SonicTempest
Posts too much
A.K.A.:>8|
Currently Playing:Dark Souls II
XBL:SonicTempest84
PSN:SonicTempest
Reading Japanese for beginners (katakana) - repost

Post by SonicTempest » Tue Dec 13, 2005 03:41

Just reposting Gojira's katakana tutorial for everyone's benefit.
I might start posting some basic Japanese tutorials if anyone is interested.

------------------

I felt like this forum needs something, and since nobody posts lessons any more (or anything for that matter) I figured I might as well bring it back to basics for the newer members. I'm no expert but I've taken enough to teach up to an intermediate level, and knowledge is power as they say. Believe me, if I can do this, anyone can.

So, hajimemashou. (Let's get started)

First, let's make a few preparations.

Windows XP:
Go into your Regional Settings, click the Languages tab and click on Details. Then click on Add and select Japanese from the drop-down box. Then below there should be a line showing the IME (Input Method) version. Check the box next to it and OK out of everything. It may ask you to insert the install CD; just do whatever it says. Return to this page and right click, then go to Encoding->Japanese(auto-select). Now everything should be proper.

Windows 98:
Go to download.microsoft.com and type "Japanese IME" into the Search box. You're looking for JAMONDO, which will install the Japanese language support on your computer. Once you find it, just download and run it. Return to this page and right click, then go to Encoding->Japanese(auto-select). Now everything should be proper.

If you have a Mac, sorry I can't help you. Maybe someone else can.

I'll have a brief tutorial of how to use the IME at the end of this lesson.

KATAKANA

Now, there are four basic alphabets in Japanese. There's katakana, hiragana, kanji, and romaji. For now I will cover katakana.